My favorite Thai food: Pad Thai

I still remember the first time I had this conversation with the Thai lady in the restaurant.

Waitress: Could I take your order?

Me: Hmmm, any recommendation?

Waitress: Do you like spicy?

Me: I love spicy.

Then she recommended some curry that I dont remember the name which gave me a great lesson about thai spicy. Argh… My mouth and my stomach started protesting after a few bites. The worst was my stomach though. You know the feeling that when you eat something spicy and sour, you started watering in your mouth? That happened to my stomach and killed my appetite for the meal. After that experience, I was introduced to my favorite Thai food: Pad Thai.😀 Super yummy and I started to eat everywhere I go.😛

As a foodie, I have this wonderfully awful habit of say: wow, this tastes great! Hmmm, I bet I can make this myself as well!😀

So later, I found myself wandering in the supermarket in Thailand,  bought a whole bag pack of Thai ingredients, from red curry, Pad Thai noodles to lime leaves and fish sauce. And yes, carried them all the way back to Beijing.🙂 Of course later I realised that I can get all of them here in Beijing as well.

Let me get to the point! Share the love of Pad Thai.😀 So that you can make your own at home easy and tasty.

pad-thai

Ingredients: (serve to 6 ppl as snack)

1/3 cup fish sauce
1/3 cup tamarind concentrate or fresh lime juice
1/3 cup palm sugar or honey (Sugar if fine as well)
5 Tbs. vegetable oil; more than needed
1 large clove garlic, minced
1/3 cup small dried shrimp, soaked in warm water for 20 minutes and drained/ You can use fresh shrimp as well, you can also replace shrimps with chicken
1-3 pieces pressed tofu, thinly sliced
4 large eggs
10 oz. medium rice sticks (pad Thai noodles), soaked in warm water until pliable (at least 20 minutes) and drained  
1-1/2 cups homemade or canned lower-salt chicken broth
1 cup bean sprouts, rinsed, root ends trimmed (if you like)
1/2 cup Thai basil or cilantro, freshly torn
1/4 cup chopped unsalted roasted peanuts or cashew nut
3 scallions (white and green parts), trimmed and thinly sliced
3 fresh red Thai chilies (or other small hot red chiles), seeded and thinly sliced
1 medium lime, cut into 6 to 8 wedges

Instructions:
In a medium bowl, whisk the fish sauce, palm sugar until the sugar is completely dissolved. Set aside.

In a large wok, heat 2 Tbs. of the oil over high heat until shimmering hot. Add the garlic and stir-fry until golden, about 15 seconds. Add the dried shrimp and stir-fry for 15 seconds. Transfer to a medium bowl, leaving behind as much oil as possible, and set aside. Add the tofu to the wok and stir-fry until heated through and golden in spots, about 1 minute. Transfer to the bowl of shrimp and set aside.

Heat the remaining 2 Tbs. oil in the wok over high heat. Add the noodles, broth, and fish sauce mixture. Cook, tossing occasionally, until the noodles have completely absorbed the liquid and are sizzling, 3 to 4 minutes. Push the noodles on the side, crack the eggs in the wok, scramble gently to break the yolks, making sure not to over mix so as to retain some yellow and white parts; cook until just set then mix the eggs with noodles. Add bean sprouts, peanuts, scallions, and chilies, toss a few times, until bean sprouts are half cooked, add shrimp and tofu, toss for another 10-20 seconds. Serve hot with the lime wedges on the side for squeezing over the noodles.

How to Serve Pad Thai
In Thailand, Pad Thai is considered a snack, typically eaten from a stool at the counter of a street food cart. (In fact, most noodle dishes in Thailand are eaten as snacks, while rice dishes tend to be main courses.)

Vendors customarily offer separate bowls of garnishes, which make the dish fun to eat. At home, you can set out bean sprouts, fresh herbs, lime wedges, chilies, and even a little extra palm sugar, so everyone can season the pad Thai to taste.

Is it easy?! Good luck! Feel free to contact me here if you have any questions or just wanna share some of your thoughts.🙂

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

